• iconArya Rd, Budh Murti, New Area, Kadamkuna, Patna, Bihar 800003
  • icongtchpb@gmail.com

icon   Contact No. : +91 - 9304709088

Founders of GTCH

The first blue print of Tibbi School came in existence on 28th March 1915 in a conference of “All India Ayurvedic & Unani Tibbi Conference” held at Patna. The conference witness the presence of great visionaries of that time like Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (Editor of Al Helal-Kolkata; the weekly paper & first education minister of Independent India), Masihul Mulk Hakeem Ajmal KhanMaulana Mubarak Karim, MLA (Ex President; Islamic Studies Bihar & Orissa), Sir Ali Imam (CIE Member Executive Council Viceroys of India), Barrister Sir Mazharul HaqueRai Bahadur Babu Kishan Sahai & Khan Bahadur Nawab Sarfaraz Hussain (President, reception committee under presidentship of Maharaja Bahadur Sir Rameshwar Sing (Maharaja Darbhanga). In this conference many resolution passed and many committees have been made to interact with government and bring the ideas in existence. (Report; Anjuman Attiba, Suba Bihar, Patna by Hkm Abdul Ahad, General Secretary 1950). This conference paves the way for establishment of Tibbi School along with Ayurvedic and Modern Medical School. Few more such type of conferences has been organized back to back to pressurize the government so as target may be achieved soon. These initiatives became movement soon and fondness for Tibb-e-Unani attracted many of its practitioners, well-wishers and general mass in Bihar towards its revival and development. In this context a decisive general meeting under the presidentship of Hakim Ajmal khan was held at Patna in which a resolution was unanimously adopted to found a Tibbi school in Patna. To achieve this purpose a governing body was formed; the first formal meeting was convened in the official chamber of the then commissioner of Patna division, Mr. W.B. Heycock, Mr S H Hoda (1.C.S.). Hkm Md ldrisKhan Bhadur Syed Md IsmaelHkm Syed Mozahir Ahmed and Hkm Abdul Karim were its founder members while Mr. S.M. Sharif (Bar-at-law) was its member secretary.

Those who worked whole heartedly for the establishment of the school and contributed in their own ways were prominent personalities of the time like Hkm. Rashiddun NabiHkm QutubuddinHkm. M ldrisHkm. Syed Mazahir AhmedHakim Md SalehSir Fakhruddin; education minister of Bihar, Sir Ganesh Dutt; Minister of local self Govt. of Bihar, Hakim Adbul Qaiyyum and Hkm. Md. Ajmal Khan, all of them left an indelible imprint on the history of revival and development of Tibb (Medicine) in the state during the last century.

In the first meeting it was proposed that the Govt. should establish a Tibbi school in Patna besides it was decided that the student’s from oriental streams (Islamic Madarsa) seeking admission in the school would be exempted from admission and monthly tuition fees. Students however were to be charged admissible fees, in view of humble start of the school it was also decided to use wooden cots (chowki) in place of chair table and desk. In this way the school came into existence on 29 of July 1926. In the first Budget (1927-28) after inception of the school, Govt. earmarked an amount of  rupees 15,164 tor its expenses.

After granted recognition from the Govt. Tibbi School formally came in existence on 29 July

1926 (correction made; source: Bihar State Archives, Letter No.6639-LS G, dated 9th September 1926) Hkm Md ldris was appointed its first principal. The school had no building of its own and so, at first, the house of one Mrs. Mariyam w/o Late Shah Hamiduddin, holding no.40, at Bhikhna Pahari was procured on a monthly rent of Rs.65 to run the school

In July 1926, the Govt. of Bihar & Orissa formed a three member committee comprising Hkm. Maulvi Md Kabiruddin (Delhi), Hkm Hafiz Abdul Majeed (Lucknow) and Hkm Abdul Halim (Lucknow) was empowered to select the principal and teachers for appointment in the school. After three to four days marathon deliberations and close scrutiny of all the applications the committee decided to give a chance to all the eligible applicants to satisfy the members of the committee for recommendation by demonstrating their teaching ability through practical classes. After the completion of the process the govt. appointed some of the eminent hakims of the time on the recommendation of the committee. They were Hakim Md. Idris (Principal), Hkm Maulvi Mozahir Ahmad (Professor), Hkm Maulvi Khwaja Rizwan Ahmed (Professor) (sanction letter No. 6013 LS.G., Dt.2 9-7-1926). After two and half years the Govt. sanctioned another three posts of professors (vide sanctioned letter No.4000 L.S.G., dt.20-3-1929). Even after seventy five years since its inception there are only six sanctioned posts of professors till 2011. (8 more post of professors has been sanctioned this year)

Sourcearticle- Prof. (Hkm) Md Zeyauddin. “Brief History of Govt. Tibbi College, Patna”. Souvenir released on 91st College Foundation day (29th July 2017) of Govt. Tibbi College & Hospital, Kadam Kuan, Patna, Bihar. 2017: 1-2.